Raw take-away #13: tacos and brownies

It seems I may show slight favourtism towards Mexican and Thai flavours in the weekly raw take-aways. I can’t help it– there are so many delicious, fresh ways to prepare raw Mexican and Thai dishes. So this week it was raw tacos (a variation on burritos I made before) and Mexican brownies (which means brownies with a hint of cayenne and cinnamon). Delicious! The tacos are one of my favourite raw dishes, because of the combination of flavours and textures.

Raw tacos

Raw tacos

6-8 lettuce or cabbage leaves (I like Chinese cabbage)

Raw taco meat (I used the recipe here)

Raw salsa (I used this recipe, but with more tomatoes and less peppers)

Raw guacamole (see recipe here). This week I added the kernels from one cob of corn/ maize to my classic guacamole.

Shredded vegetables (try carrots, red cabbage and spring onions)

Raw cashew cheese (see recipe here)

Instructions: Use the lettuce or cabbage leaves as the taco shells. Place some shredded veggies in each leaf. Top with a little taco “meat”, guacamole, salsa and cashew cheese.

Enjoy!

Raw brownie

Raw Mexican brownies

2 cups pecans

1/2 to 1/3 cup dates, pitted

1/2 cup raw cacao powder

dash of vanilla (I use powdered vanilla pod)

dash of Himalayan salt

dash of cayenne powder

1 tsp cinnamon

Instructions: Process pecans in food processor until finely ground. Add the rest of the ingredients and process until the mixture holds together. Press into a loaf pan and refrigerate at least one hour to set.

Leave a Reply

